Keith's November Newsletter

Keith's November Newsletter

Hello All

My apologies for the late newsletter (he said knowing full well that no one was sitting by their inbox awaiting his latest monthly missive). I did a week of nights at the end of October which wiped me out completely, and it's taken this long to get my head around what I'm meant to be doing.

Having money is great. The things we have to do to acquire money, on the other hand, not so much.

National Author Day

I'm trying to get a thing going for National Author Day (1st November) where authors go and visit their books in the national archive in Boston Spa near York.

This was the first year doing it, and with everything that's been going on recently uptake was lackluster to say the least. But still, we did it, we got the ball rolling, so hopefully next year it'll be even bigger and better.

Check out what we got up to in

.

My other writerly news is that I was asked to contribute a letter to my 16-year-old self for (hopeful) publication in an upcoming charity book,

.

It was full of advice like 'Never take an idiot on a long journey, you'll always find one along the way', and 'It's easier to ask forgiveness than permission', advice I think people could actually use, so let's hope they see fit to include it in the final book. If they do you guys will be the first to know when it comes out.

News from the Steam Factory

Edits are done on

The Dragonfly Delivery Company

. My thanks to my editor

for all her hard work. Now the hard work for me

really

begins, getting the damn thing published. But I am on the horns of a dilemma! Do I do what I did before, and simply self publish? Or do I run a Kickstarter campaign, and try and raise the funds that way?

Both are a lot of effort, but in different ways. I wonder, if I was to run a Kickstarter for book two, how many of you reading this would be up for backing it?

If I was to run a Kickstarter, one of the pledge levels would include a Dexter badge!

This isn't exactly how it is going to look, I'm hoping to make one that is bigger with clearer, brighter colours, but you get the idea. So does that look like something you would like to own, along with a copy of my new book?

NB: The image is from the new cover of Dexter & Sinister which I hope to bring out some time soon. I think it captures Dexter's cheekiness really well, and I can't wait to see it full size and in print.

When I'm Not Writing

This is what I've been up to for the past few weeks, playing Animal Crossing: New Horizons on the Nintendo Switch. I wish I could pretend I'd been doing something more high brow, but as the nights close in and the cold winds blow, you've got to do something to stave off the winter blues don't you.

I also needed something to cheer me up after scrapping my beloved Cruiser, after over a decade of dedicated service. Au revoir old friend. You will be dearly missed (especially as I cycle uphill to work every day, lol).

And that's it from me, except to say do check the latest victim for my Awkward Author Questions,

. Creator of the Boston Metaphysical Society, Madeleine was a great sport subjecting herself to such an inquisition. A long time steampunk creator, do check out her stuff if you get the chance. You won't be disappointed

Toodle-pip for now.

Keith